Which one do you play by?

aerial computer stock photo

photo courtesy of Rekita Nicole at http://www.rekitanicole.com

Intention or Action?  Do  you carpe diem, seize the day, or do you drift along waiting for life to happen?  Do you find yourself saying, “I should”, “I would love to do XXX but”, “I am going to do XXX once…”?  You get the gist, you have lots of plans, what are you doing about them?

As I have worked with my clients over the past few weeks, I have found a recurring theme… procrastinating on following through with their commitments.  The most concerning aspect of this?   Not honoring their commitments to themselves and then carelessly judging themselves as being lazy!  Where is your self-compassion people?!

“Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned.”  Peter Marshall

Procrastination is not laziness.  It is laziness masking our fears or our state of overwhelm.  It is taking the safe and comfortable route, staying with the “good enough”.  We seek the safe and comfortable when we are scared, don’t know where to start or are simply overwhelmed with the task at hand.  Sometimes, we think the “good enough” is all we deserve.  But, that one is a story for another day!

I stayed in my job for a year longer than I should have because of fear.  I was plain scared.  Scared of what lay on the “other side”, scared of losing income, scared of losing my “prestige”, scared of losing what I know how to do.  Ah, there it is!   My perfectionism coming out!   I was scared of losing what I was great at and having to start over.  That meant I would make lots of mistakes, I shudder to think about it!

“Never mistake motion for action.”  Ernest Hemingway

What I realized was, that by facing my fears and grabbing hold of the unknown, I was also releasing my perfectionism traits to those of self-compassion and courage.  Taking small steps and conquering my fears slowly has helped me see that my “imperfections” are mostly in my mind.  No one has any idea what my ideal vision is so, whatever I do is ok in their eyes.  The key is:  keep doing!   Give yourself permission to allow the imperfections to teach you rather than scare you.  Do not judge but be curious. I am now “seeing” with new eyes!

Working with my coach, I have embraced taking action on my fears or “leaning into discomfort” as she would describe it.  The pride I feel when I have completed something I thought I would never do is an AWESOME feeling!    Think about this, six months ago, I had no idea how to even start building a business.  Now, I am learning marketing and websites, shooting videos, writing content, creating programs, coaching others, leading groups.  Who knew?!

So how do I stay productive and not retreat to procrastinating?  Easy!  Each morning, I journal my intentions for the day; how I want to feel and who I want to be.  I state them as if they already are in motion, before I even get out of bed!   Then, I write down the actions I want to take in order to give these intentions the “legs” they need to become action rather than simply an intention.  At the end of the day, I evaluate how well I did, where I stumbled and learned from and then give myself the opportunity to record what I am grateful for.  I find that I am much more productive each day as a result of this morning and evening ritual.  But, even better, I am motivated and excited to start my day before I even get up!  And proud of my accomplishments at the end of the day!

I want you to experience each day just like I do!  So today, I issue you a challenge to instill excitement and motivation, keep you moving towards your dreams and goals.

Each morning, set & write out your intentions:
1.  How you want to feel, i.e. I feel excited, I feel motivated
2.  Who you want to be, i.e. I am productive, I am courageous
3.  Actions that you will take today in order to satisfy #1 & #2

At the end of the day, evaluate and write your results:
1.  List the actions you actually took today.  Were you who you wanted to be today?  Celebrate your accomplishments!
2.  Where did you struggle and what did you learn about yourself?  Remember, no judging, be curious about your struggles.
3.  What are you grateful for today?  List at least 3 things!

Do this reflective activity for the next 30 days, see how empowering the challenge is for yourself and how much more productive you become!

If you have good intentions but need help executing your plans and being held accountable to action, then let’s talk!  Just send me an email and we can set up a free call to talk about your dreams and goals and see if we are good fit for each other!  If you prefer, you can click here and be taken right to my online calendar.  Simply click “Discovery Session” and you will see all of my available times.  Just choose one that fits your needs!  Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

